Walleye Message Central

Walleye Message Central (https://www.walleyecentral.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://www.walleyecentral.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Where to in Western Ontario? (https://www.walleyecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=192609)

Northern Bob 03-17-2012 12:19 PM

Where to in Western Ontario?

Hello guys, I'm new to Muskie Central and hoping to get some advice on where to go for Muskie in Western Ontario. When my Dad was a young man he had a big muskie follow to the boat in the Kenora area but not take the lure. 60 some years later he is 84 and still has never caught a muskie. We lived in Winnipeg and even though he always had time to take the kids fishing or hunting every weekend a trip for muskies would be too time consuming and expensive for a guy with 7 kids.
Recently I asked if there was anything he wanted to do or anyplace he wanted to go and he said catching a muskie was at the top of his bucket list. That big muskie must have haunted him because he said he thought of him often and when he describes the scene its like it happened yesterday. A week long fishing trip with Dad sounds great to me.
Anyone have experience with the lodges in the Dryden or Kenora areas? We're not looking for luxury, but good boats, well cooked meals, and decent cabins or a suite would be nice. Since neither of us know much about fishing for muskie a day with a guide would be a good start. Thanks if you stuck with this long post so far. Any advice or references would be appreciated.

DeBo 03-17-2012 07:00 PM

If you just want to catch a musky look for resorts in the NW Angle portion of lake of the woods or Sabaskong Bay portion of lake of the woods. A couple smaller water options would be the Indian Lake Chain or Canyon lake near Vermilion Bay. LOTS of muskies available in those waters. The LOTW options mentioned also offer a chance at a BIG fish. Canyon and the chain offer big numbers but big fish aren't real likely.