Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video
Pro kicker dying - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Motors and Props

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2012, 08:21 PM
blurangerstu blurangerstu is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dubuque IA
Posts: 253
Default Pro kicker dying

I know this has been brought up before but cant find any info on exactly what mine is doing. It will run at a higher idle but when I back off the gas it keeps dying. Then its a little hard to get started and the same thing. I dont have a tach on it so I dont know the RPM's. It seems to run fine in nuetral but not in gear.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #2  
Old 03-26-2012, 09:12 PM
feklar feklar is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 312
Default

Its hard to diagnose with that, but here is where I would start.

Run a can of seafoam through it, fairly strong
New sparkplugs.
Decarbon

After this:
Go through carb possbly rebuild


After this:
dunno, take to a professional?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:04 AM
Crankbaiter Crankbaiter is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montana, USA.
Posts: 549
Default Pro Kicker problem

If you have open water and your able to run this motor now, here is an unscientific suggestion.....

next time you run it try trimming the motor up slightly so it is very level with the water and not on an angle which is ussaly the case because the back of the boat sits lower in the water due to the weight of the main motor.

I know this sounds hokey and it is not a cure but if it does begin to run better being "level" in the water it may be a sign of a float issue and thats at least starting point.

We have had a few Pro kicker that were very senitive to being level.

Good Luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:45 AM
Stratos219 Stratos219 is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 85
Default

sounds like the carb. mine did the same thing. carb rebuild did the trick
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:03 AM
Spendit Spendit is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The "Middleville" Michigan
Posts: 295
Default What year is it

My '07 was set too lean - emissions........do a search here, drill plug and turn 1/8th back - see if it does the trick.....all other suggestions tried on mine (level, sea foam...) best answer was to richen up the mixture for low speed running
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:27 AM
Eric_CO's Avatar
Eric_CO Eric_CO is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 769
Default

What elevation are you at?

I had to drill out the brass cap and adjust the idle mixture screw. I also had to re-attach the choke to the choke pull switch. It came off and the choke was open, so you might look for that too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-29-2012, 05:20 AM
blurangerstu blurangerstu is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dubuque IA
Posts: 253
Default

Well I cleaned the carb and it seems to be running better although it looked pretty clean to me. I will see next week when I get it on the water how it does thanks for the help everyone. By the way can any one tell me where that brass plug is that I can drill out? I think it may already have been taken out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-30-2012, 02:49 PM
T Mac's Avatar
T Mac T Mac is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Broadwater County, Montana.
Posts: 7,639
Default

(Before I retired 2008)...as a dealer, we replaced a lot of almost new Merc "Pro-Kicker" fuel pumps that were doing that. We replaced them with new Yamaha T-9.9 water cooled fuel pumps and it solved the problem. That was a couple of years ago ...but, they bolted right up and did fix the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-01-2012, 07:46 PM
blurangerstu blurangerstu is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dubuque IA
Posts: 253
Default

T Mac where do I find one and do you know how much one would cost me?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Walleye Message Central forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 AM.