Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Mounting SI Transducer - Page 2 - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-17-2017, 05:42 PM
TackleJunky TackleJunky is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrenf442 View Post
Run 2 SI transducers, add another transducer mounting plate and place your transducers at the furthest point on each plate away from the engine, then place your high speed transducer beside and lower then one of the SI transducers. I run mine that way and works excellent. Almost impossible to get any interference from the engine.

The picture isnt of my boat but another guy on here sent it to me and i set mine up just like his, and it works perfectly. .
Will this placemnt work for a DI transducer? The high speed won' interfere with down-imaging?

I have the Y cable and new mounting plate and am ready to install the high speed and DI on the starboard side.

Only want to do this once; so want to make sure I place them both in a good spot.

Thanks.

Rick
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #12  
Old 03-17-2017, 06:29 PM
Darrenf442 Darrenf442 is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 758
Default

If your only running the DI transducer and a high speed follow the instructions. When running 2 SI the head unit isnt taking the inside beams just the outside thats why the high speed is inside the SI traducer instead of outside.
__________________
2014 Lund Impact , Mercury 115 4S
Humminbird Helix 9 SI, 999 SI,
Minn Kota Talon 12
Terrova
Hydro Wave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-17-2017, 06:53 PM
TackleJunky TackleJunky is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrenf442 View Post
If your only running the DI transducer and a high speed follow the instructions. When running 2 SI the head unit isnt taking the inside beams just the outside thats why the high speed is inside the SI traducer instead of outside.
Instructions? They don't mention dual transducers, at least in the Helix 10DI and Helix 7 transducer installation manuals they don't.

I want high speed readings more than anything; so it seems that placing the high speed lower than the DI is what I would want to do; however I don't want the DI beams to hit the high speed transducer and mess it up.

Thanks.

Rick
Reply With Quote
 
  #14  
Old 03-17-2017, 10:45 PM
Kevin23 Kevin23 is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,391
Default

You don't have to worry about anything with DI. DI does shoot out as an oval beam, but you shouldn't have any problems. I'd just mount them next to each other about 3" apart. DI being flush with hull, highspeed slightly below (about 1/8" lower)

Be sure to level them individually with how your boat sits during operation. There are videos on youtube of how to do this, your high speed will likely not be at the same angle as your DI.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-18-2017, 06:40 AM
TackleJunky TackleJunky is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin23 View Post
You don't have to worry about anything with DI. DI does shoot out as an oval beam, but you shouldn't have any problems. I'd just mount them next to each other about 3" apart. DI being flush with hull, highspeed slightly below (about 1/8" lower)

Be sure to level them individually with how your boat sits during operation. There are videos on youtube of how to do this, your high speed will likely not be at the same angle as your DI.
Thanks Kevin. So can I have the high speed ducer lower on the left and the DI to the right of it a little higher? Basically wanting the high speed to be lowest in the water to have the best chance of reading on plane (assuming lower on the hull is better for this).

Have a great day.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-18-2017, 06:57 AM
Hot Runr Guy's Avatar
Hot Runr Guy Hot Runr Guy is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL, USA.
Posts: 12,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin23 View Post
You don't have to worry about anything with DI. DI does shoot out as an oval beam, but you shouldn't have any problems. I'd just mount them next to each other about 3" apart. DI being flush with hull, highspeed slightly below (about 1/8" lower)

Be sure to level them individually with how your boat sits during operation. There are videos on youtube of how to do this, your high speed will likely not be at the same angle as your DI.
Kevin,
It will be a few more weeks before I get to test mine, but here's how i mounted them.

HRG
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0715.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	199.5 KB
ID:	248474  
__________________
"I've got a car with a trailer hitch, and a pocket full of money. Do you want to sell that boat today, or not?"
My Mentor, Bill Michalek, circa 1975
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2017, 07:27 AM
sfw1960's Avatar
sfw1960 sfw1960 is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tHE eDgE 0f tW!L!gHT , aNd tHe c0rr!D0r oF dArKne$$ tRans!T!0n. (49349)
Posts: 1,092
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hot Runr Guy View Post
Kevin,
It will be a few more weeks before I get to test mine, but here's how i mounted them.

HRG
New toy(s) Terry??
__________________
Bringer of the 'Bird.....

HB
Helix 12 MSI G2N(v1.40),AS-RC1x2, Helix 12 DI(v1.40),Helix 12 SI(v1.40),859ciHDDI(v7.65),AS GPS HS, AS GRP i-Pliot LINK, 688ciHD DI v7.52,~'91Lowe 1730V
https://www.universalmania.com

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2017, 07:33 AM
Hot Runr Guy's Avatar
Hot Runr Guy Hot Runr Guy is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL, USA.
Posts: 12,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfw1960 View Post
New toy(s) Terry??
No, just disappointed with the 2D performance from the DI 'ducer, so I bought the SI-2D Y-cable, and had a 2D in stock, so I'm giving it a try.

If it works, great. If not, it's all just plug & play,,,,,

HRG
__________________
"I've got a car with a trailer hitch, and a pocket full of money. Do you want to sell that boat today, or not?"
My Mentor, Bill Michalek, circa 1975
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-18-2017, 07:48 AM
sfw1960's Avatar
sfw1960 sfw1960 is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tHE eDgE 0f tW!L!gHT , aNd tHe c0rr!D0r oF dArKne$$ tRans!T!0n. (49349)
Posts: 1,092
Default

Gotcha.

The DI XDCR has a considerably smaller 2D element than the 200/30 does because it accommodates the 455KHz 2D transmission also.

You should be fine once you switch that over to HB DI200/83 XDCR selection with the dual setup.

__________________
Bringer of the 'Bird.....

HB
Helix 12 MSI G2N(v1.40),AS-RC1x2, Helix 12 DI(v1.40),Helix 12 SI(v1.40),859ciHDDI(v7.65),AS GPS HS, AS GRP i-Pliot LINK, 688ciHD DI v7.52,~'91Lowe 1730V
https://www.universalmania.com

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-18-2017, 10:30 AM
TackleJunky TackleJunky is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfw1960 View Post
Gotcha.

The DI XDCR has a considerably smaller 2D element than the 200/30 does because it accommodates the 455KHz 2D transmission also.

You should be fine once you switch that over to HB DI200/83 XDCR selection with the dual setup.

I ordered the wrong Y cable I guess. The AS SI DB Y does not work; so I ordered the AS SILR Y as it's the only other cable that looks like it might work.

H-bird web-site doesn't list which units this one works for; just says won't work with mega units?

Can someone confirm which Y cable I need for my Helix 10DI and high speed dual-beam ducer?

Thanks.

Rick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.