Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
very low recoil deer gun - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Hunting Central > Big Game Hunting

Old 08-01-2013, 08:00 AM
Keeper

Default very low recoil deer gun

I am looking to take my daughter deer hunting this up coming Iowa youth season. She is on the small side and I am worried about the recoil. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to get a very low slug gun!
Old 08-01-2013, 08:24 AM
Keeper

Default No expert

I am no expert but I will weigh in on this topic. Slug guns can beat you up pretty bad, especially if you try sighting in at a sit-down bench. It is much better to stand up and let the recoil push you back on your heels. Of course a 20 ga will kick less than a 12. Also an automatic will be a heavier gun and some of the gas or recoil will be used to operate the action which extends the time of the recoil so it is not as sharp and is more of a push on your shoulder. There are also managed recoil slugs that advertise up to a 40% reduction in recoil. So I recommend a youth model 20 ga semi auto with managed recoil slugs. I would also recommend a rifled barrel for better accuracy.
Old 08-01-2013, 10:28 AM
Wallhanger

Good advice in above post. Also: the sabot slugs seem to kick a lot less than regular slugs.
I think the 20 ga. semi. W/sabot slugs would be a good choice for her.
Although a little light, the .410 slug will also do the job, but I would take the 20 ga. over the .410.
If the shotgun purchased has screw in choke tubes, a rifled choke tube will also work pretty well.
I have a Browning A-bolt shotgun, with a 5" rifled choke tube. It will touch holes at 100 yd. with certain slugs.

Last edited by grizzley; 08-01-2013 at 10:42 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2013, 10:48 AM
Wallhanger