Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
painting jigs - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Walleye Message Central > Strictly Fishing

Old 02-21-2015, 09:11 AM
Slot Fish

Default painting jigs

When painting jigs I usually heat jig and then dip into powder paint. Jig looks good but after time the paint starts falling off in jig box. What am I doing wrong?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2015, 09:18 AM
Wallhanger

You need to cure the paint in an oven at 300 degrees for around 20 minutes. If you do not cure it, it will be like glass and crack and flake off. Take the jigs you have that still look good and cure them.
Old 02-21-2015, 03:18 PM
Wallhanger

Default Jig painting

I've been painting jigs for several years now and have finally become satisfied with my resulting jigs. I use the hemostat/torch method for painting. One of my keys was learning to "fluff" the powder paint in a shallow dish. I drag both sides of the heated jig across the surface of the paint to get a uniform coating that melts onto the jig. I take great care to not get paint on the eye of the hook. I sometimes use my thumb nail to remove surplus paint from the shaft of the hook.

The previous post mentioned heating the jigs in an oven to cure the paint. Without this step, you have already learned that the paint will eventually flake off the jig. The heating/curing step really locks the paint onto my jigs. Find out what the manufacturer of your paint recommends for time and temperature. My paint needs thirty minutes at 250 degrees F.