Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Venison butchering and recipes..terrific you tube find - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Hunting Central > Big Game Hunting

Old 12-04-2016, 11:35 PM
Wallhanger

Default Venison butchering and recipes..terrific you tube find

Just discovered the "Scott Rea Project" on you tube. Absolutely STUNNING (inside joke that will make sense if you watch his videos) recipes and video instruction. Butchering of game from fur, fins and feathers. Also shows beef and pork butchery. Self taught in the kitchen but a career butcher of some 28 years if I recall correctly. Skinning knife to steak knife. Just made the haunch pie using steaks from the bottom round of my deer. MMMMMMMMMMMM SHO is GOOOOOOOD!!!!!!! While their deer are considerably smaller in the UK and some of their food/culinary lingo needs some interpretting or translation, he is spot on. Check it out. Ill add more as I continue to reach into my freezer through out the coming months.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgmicsUfUIQ
Advertisement

Old 12-31-2016, 04:07 PM
Wallhanger

Tried the pan seared steak. I give it an 8 out of 10. I'd drop his cooking time by about 1/2 once you remove the pan from the heat. Letting the meat rest as noted is also a must. Dont jump the gun. Let those babies rest under foil or a dome for the full 10 min. Having said that, there is nothing wrong with the recipe as written, I prefer my venison steak a bit more rare than they turned out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpKfO6onH6E

Next up will be the meatballs with paprika.
Old 01-05-2017, 09:29 PM
Wallhanger

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhqZyknr2WE