Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Running Depth Of Weightless Crawler Harnesses - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Walleye Message Central > Strictly Fishing

Old 02-01-2010, 07:14 AM
Keeper

Default Running Depth Of Weightless Crawler Harnesses

I know there has been a lot of information shared concerning depth charts for various size trolling weights, but I'm curious (since I'm new to the trolling harnesses game), on how deep weightless crawler harnesses will run with varying amounts of line out, with size 4 and 5 colorado blades at typical harness trolling speeds. Thanks in advance for any insight.
Old 02-01-2010, 07:39 AM
Wallhanger

I run harnesses alot, but I do not like to run weightless. I have found that I need way too much line out to keep them from blowing out, and then the line twist is terrible. I will put really light bouncers on and run less line. That is just my experience, and I seem to catch quite a few 'eyes wirh no issues.
Old 02-01-2010, 09:48 AM
Charter Member

I fish a spot tha is snaggy and can't even use a swivel. Jigging only produces the little fish in this spot!!!I can only do what I call bumping with about 30 feet of line out. When I say bumping it means turning the elec. motor on and watching the rod tip as it vibrates from the blade spinning, shut the motor off and let it slow down and flutter. When almost stopped repeat the process all day long... To guess a top speed doing this would be about .2-.6mph. If any faster it would cause blowout without any weight... Yes I get line twist but if you cut the harnesss off and let the line out of your reel behind the boat and motor up and it will remove all the twist. I use 8# trilene for this method...