Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
After 40 years changing boat strategy - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Boats

Old 03-11-2015, 05:35 PM
Charter Member

Default After 40 years changing boat strategy

Having owned a 14' Starcraft, 14' Lund, 16' Lund pro angler, 16' Nisswa Guide, 680T Ranger, Skeeter 135T, and 2 620T Rangers, all tillers I decided to move to a new Ranger 620FS with the new G2, 250hp Etec. It was a long and difficult struggle as this I have been fishing out of tillers for 40 years now. Last opener I made a terrible mistake and hit another boat with mine. Luckily I glanced off the motor so no one was hurt but it really shook me up. I got the boat fixed just like new and as there was nothing but cosmetic damage yet as the summer went on I could not get the fact that my fishing partners blocked my view and I let it happen. I like tillers as they are great for back trolling, everything is right there, and I never had motors too large to prevent forward trolling. On the other hand I'd admit that I am spooked and have not felt very comfortable since.