Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
suggest a line rating for walleye, smallie fishing...??? - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Walleye Message Central > Strictly Fishing

Old 04-16-2014, 02:38 PM
Minnow

Default suggest a line rating for walleye, smallie fishing...???

I am new to fishing in the area and plan to target walleye, smallies and northerns. What strength line should I put on my reels? What about lighter rods for panfish? Thanks.
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2014, 02:47 PM
Keeper

If you plan on using the same rod and reel for smallie, walleye, and northern. I would say 10lb would do everything you needed. Unless of course you hook into a 20lber, but even then you will more than likely be ok. If you will have multiple poles, I like 6lb for walleye and smallie fishing. I've never had a break off with either fish due to line weight. As for a northern pole I would personally run a 20-30lb braid. This is what I personally use, and I'm sure everyone will be different. But it should be real close to what everyone else is using. Good luck!
Old 04-16-2014, 03:32 PM
Wallhanger

I would go with a 7' fast medium,1/4-5/8 oz, spinning rod and reel with 8# mono or 10-15# braid for walleye, northerns and smallies.
For pan fish a 7' fast ultra light spinning rod and reel with 4# mono.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2014, 04:57 PM
Wallhanger

I would use 10-15 pound braid, and learn to tie a uni-uni knot which would attach a seamless leader of fluorocarbon to the braid. If fishing smallmouth or walleye, use an 8 pound fluorocarbon leader. Tie on 4 or 6 pound fluorocarbon for panfish. If fishing for northern, you can buy either heavy-duty fluorocarbon or wire leaders specifically for northern/muskie and tie to the eye on the leader.

This arrangement gives you flexibility to use one set up to fish different species/sizes of fish.