Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Cisco Mount with HDS 12 Gen 3 - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2017, 09:04 AM
MACH's Avatar
MACH MACH is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Posts: 573
Default Cisco Mount with HDS 12 Gen 3

So i ordered a Cisco mount and I do like the mount a lot. I like the fact that it does NOT move.

BUT, good lord am I waiting for the gimble bracket to snap on it. Rough water the mount is rock solid, but the gimble from the weight of the HDS shakes pretty violently. I have heard of some gimbles breaking.

Anyone have this issue and what have you done? I thought about buying a stabil mount but can't see that really solving the problem. Regardless the gimble attaches to the mount. It isn't the mount that shakes its the gimble as it seems flimsy.

Wondering if I took a piece of Stainless sheeting and cut it to fit the bottom of the gimble to make it more sturdy.
__________________
Chris Messerschmidt
NPAA #803
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-17-2017, 09:46 AM
alumalunker alumalunker is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arlington WI
Posts: 611
Default

I think stabil mount makes a beefer bracket for lowrance hds 12's. They run about 55bucks
__________________
2006 Alumacraft Dominator 175
150 Opti 19 tempest
9.9 Pro Kicker
Hds 8&5
Terrova 80 ipilot

NPAA #409
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2017, 11:50 AM
bloodman's Avatar
bloodman bloodman is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belvidere, Il
Posts: 816
Default

Had the same setup. Get a piece of 1/8 aluminum same width as bottom of gimbal, cut to match and bolt it on to double the strength. I actually used another bracket I had, cut the ears off and bolted it on.
The Cisco moves also. You might not realize it but there is a little play where it rotates on the teeth. A spring hold the top to the bottom and the teeth keep it from rotating but the spring allows a small amount of movement that bugs the beeswax out of you. No way to get it out so I got a balzout mount
Reply With Quote
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-2017, 12:04 PM
MACH's Avatar
MACH MACH is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Posts: 573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alumalunker View Post
I think stabil mount makes a beefer bracket for lowrance hds 12's. They run about 55bucks
I did not see it on there site just now, but I will email them. Thanks!
__________________
Chris Messerschmidt
NPAA #803
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2017, 05:03 PM
itsagr8day4fishing itsagr8day4fishing is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Flat Rock,MI
Posts: 244
Default

I had the same issues after upgrading from a HDS7 with Ram mount to an HDS12 and the Cisco mount. After the first time out the bracket gouged the dash a little from it moving so much. My Cisco, I reinforced the bottom with 1/4 plate aluminum from underneath the dash to start with. I concluded that the problem was the spring loaded indexing base.(with the teeth). A little movement at the base translated to 3/4" movement at the head. I didn't need it to rotate so they sent me a solid spacer to replace it. Problem solved. Did charge me for the spacer that I'm still not happy about considering their mount didn't perform as advertised and marked up my dash. I have quite a few holders/handlining mounts from them & this was the first experience of one of the products not performing.
__________________
2011 Alumacraft Dominator 185sp
140hp Suzuki.HDS 5&7&12 with Structure Scan
9.9hp BTHL Suzuki EFI
80lb Terrova with Ipilot
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2017, 05:36 PM
Redy2fish Redy2fish is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 47
Default

Ir definitely takes a solid mount holding them HDS12 ,I was using a ram mount like most of v us and just last week I picked a Balzout system and so far I really like it.

This spring I went to a fishing sport show and looked at cisco and a few others and i noticed that they locked into position but the still would move slightly and realized it was not for me,I plan on picking up another balzout for my other ff ,just need to save up first, there not cheap
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2017, 04:58 AM
alumalunker alumalunker is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arlington WI
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MACH View Post
I did not see it on there site just now, but I will email them. Thanks!
I miss read a post. If you have Facebook Bill Shimota has beefer brackets for sale for 55 bucks
__________________
2006 Alumacraft Dominator 175
150 Opti 19 tempest
9.9 Pro Kicker
Hds 8&5
Terrova 80 ipilot

NPAA #409
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2017, 08:11 AM
MACH's Avatar
MACH MACH is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Posts: 573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alumalunker View Post
I miss read a post. If you have Facebook Bill Shimota has beefer brackets for sale for 55 bucks
I got a reply from Jim at Stabil Mounts. Shimota runs there mounts and Jim has the beefed up brackets. I am going to order one.
__________________
Chris Messerschmidt
NPAA #803
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.