Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Can I add waypoints in Autochart Pro PC. - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2017, 08:24 PM
Muddy Waters Muddy Waters is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default Can I add waypoints in Autochart Pro PC.

I've created some new maps using sonar logs and Autochart Pro PC.

When I study the maps on my PC and look at bottom hardness and side imaging, some key spots stick out that I'd like to waypoint.

Can I waypoint the spots on my PC and will they be saved to my Zeroline card so I can see them on my HB?

Thanks for any and all help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-17-2017, 06:38 AM
bigdaddyguns's Avatar
bigdaddyguns bigdaddyguns is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: People's Republic of IL
Posts: 359
Default

You can create waypoints on AutoChart by right mouse clicking the desired point on the map then selecting MARK WAYPOINT. There is a Waypoint Manager utility found under TOOLS then SETTINGS drill down.

From the Waypoint Manager you can import, edit, and export waypoints via the ZeroLine Card. I don't know if this process is automated via the transfer process from AutoChart PC to ZeroLine card or not. I will look into this automated aspect and report back. You can manually export to ZeroLine Card as a worst case.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2017, 07:55 PM
Muddy Waters Muddy Waters is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 27
Default Thank yoy BigDaddyGuns

Thank you - I am a newbie so not sure what you mean by transferring them "manually".

I am hoping that when I make the map, I can lay down waypoints on the potential good looking spots, and then save the waypoints on the map so I can see the waypoints on my Humminbird.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-2017, 09:14 AM
bigdaddyguns's Avatar
bigdaddyguns bigdaddyguns is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: People's Republic of IL
Posts: 359
Default

Here is what I have found out about the waypoint manager (WPM) in AutoChart (AC). The WPM manages waypoints created in AC or imported from a SD card. I exported all my waypoints from my unit and was able to import them in AC and plot them on the created maps. It is nice to see all the waypoints ploted on the maps and also in relation to bottom hardness and vegetation layers. I was able to export all the AC waypoints back to the ZeroLine card (ZLC). Once on the ZLC I was able to import them into my sonar unit and have them displayed on the sonar unit map.

This is a manual process that I referred to in my previous post. I went thru a few map creation scenarios to determine if the WPM contents were update on the ZLC automatically when the Lakemaster data is updated to the ZLC. It is not.

Therefore if you want to move the waypoints from the AC WPM you must do so manually. The procedures may vary by unit so my process here pertains to a core unit (597). The waypoints for the core series are found in a directory on the SD card called MATRIX and are stored in a file named DATA.HWR. To move the waypoints from AC WPM you use the EXPORT function button listed on the bottom of WPM window and navigate to the DATA.HWR file noted above. Now your waypoints from AC are now on the SD card which can be a ZLC.

Next step is importing the waypoints into the unit. For the 597 unit there is no user import function for waypoints. The only way to import waypoints is to insert the card while the unit is running and there is a embedded process to scan the SD card and it will ask if you want to import waypoints. Select yes and the new waypoints on the SD card are transferred into the sonar unit local memory. Again these procedures pertain to a 597 unit and as other series or newer platform units may have different waypoint file management and import procedures as they say "your mileage may vary"

So to answer your original question yes you can though there are additional steps required to complete the transfer from AC to your sonar unit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2017, 09:48 AM
lawson2343 lawson2343 is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 228
Default

bigdaddyguns, when you imported the waypoints back into your 597, did you by chance check what you then had?

What I'm curious about is the creation of duplicates. I have the understanding that the unit isn't smart enough to recognize duplicates.

So if you had waypoint 'A' on your 597, exported to SD card, imported to AC Pro waypoints. Then exported waypoints to your card again and reimported to 597.

Would you have two waypoint 'A's?

I use the same method you do, but when I create new waypoints in AC Pro, I only export those new ones to the card for import to my Helix 7. I don't reimport existing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2017, 01:47 PM
bigdaddyguns's Avatar
bigdaddyguns bigdaddyguns is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: People's Republic of IL
Posts: 359
Default

Yes, the 597 will import all waypoints as new each time so you have to be careful and only import the new points if you want to avoid duplicates.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2017, 01:58 PM
lawson2343 lawson2343 is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaddyguns View Post
Yes, the 597 will import all waypoints as new each time so you have to be careful and only import the new points if you want to avoid duplicates.
Thanks for confirming!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.