Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
4 blade vs 3 blade - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Motors and Props

Old 03-12-2012, 11:04 AM
Keeper

Default 4 blade vs 3 blade

I am kinda new to this prop stuff. What are the pro/con with 4 blade props vs 3 blade props??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-12-2012, 12:06 PM
Charter Member

I suppose that the biggest difference is that one prop has one more blade than the other.

Seriously, a 4 blade prop will give you added blade area.
As a result of the added prop area, the motor will see a larger load if you try to run the same size 4 blade as a 3 blade prop.

So, most folks who switch from a well running 3 blade prop will select a 4 blade prop that is both smaller in diameter and also has less pitch. By doing both of these things, the load on the motor stays about the same.

But, as you might imagine, if you go down in pitch, you will likely lose top end - assuming that you can spin both props at the same rpm.

But, with the lesser pitch and larger blade area, you generally have a better hole shot, and mainly a better mid range.

Many folks who work rough water - i..e. large waves like to use a 4 blade prop for these reasons.

However, many folks have found - including myself, that due to the extra blade, reverse performance can suffer greatly.
i.e. a motor that can back troll very well with a 3 blade prop may not back troll at all with a 4 blade prop. i.e. many four blade props on many motors simply do not pull the boat very well when run in reverse.

I prefer to have a good high pitch 3 blade for my boat, as well as a good lower pitch 3 blade for my boat as well as a mid pitch range 4 blade prop for my boat.