Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video
Tips for Muskie fishing in Cave Run Lake, Ky - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Muskie Central > General Discussion

Old 09-24-2004, 04:00 PM
Alex

Default Tips for Muskie fishing in Cave Run Lake, Ky

I've been fishing for northern pike for many years in Northern Quebec with fantastic results. I always wanted to catch a Muskie, doesn't matter what size. I've caught some huge northerns incuding a 44 inches, 20.4lb this august.
I am about 3 hours from Cave Run Lake. I am looking for some tips, suggestions as far as which part of the lake, lures, depth etc.

Thanks,
Alex
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-24-2004, 06:05 PM
Crashs Landing

Default RE: Tips for Muskie fishing in Cave Run Lake, Ky

"NEW Cave Run Lake Report Sept. 24, 2004"

LAST EDITED ON 09-24-04 AT 11:10 AM (CST)

September 24, 2004
WATER LEVEL: 13' Feet Above Summer Pool

WATER TEMP: 78 Degrees Surface-78 Degrees

WATER CLARITY: Clear

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Scott's Creek, Alfrey, & Poppin' Rock are the only ramps open today.

BASIC INFORMATION:

MUSKIE:

Muskie Fishing had slowed due to High Water, until today. Continue to fish in the backs of hollows / coves as far back as you possibly can........although from most reports the Muskies are in the shallow waters where it's next to impossible to reach them. Lake levels are holding steady until the Ohio River subsides and then the Corp. of Engineers will begin to release water from Cave Run Lake. We hope that it will be a slow release and not disrupt normal fishing patterns.

BASS: Plastic worms and lizards in 5 to 15' feet; Flukes & Carolina-Rigs have been producing well. Night time has been the best bite. (Still no change)