Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Leader Board   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video
Wholesale Marine Electronics? (toolcameras) - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:10 PM
scott.keeley's Avatar
scott.keeley scott.keeley is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ankeny, IA
Posts: 311
Default Wholesale Marine Electronics? (toolcameras)

Has anyone ever heard of or used this company to buy electronics?

http://toolscameras.com/index.php?ma...Path=18&page=3

Seems like one of those "too good to be true" deals. Wondering what the catch is...
__________________
Scott Keeley
NPAA# 413
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:22 PM
Munshaw Munshaw is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 265
Default

Looks like a Chinese website.. Are they making knockoffs??? Those prices aren't remotely realistic. So yes, definitely fake. Aparently they only accept Western Union, so that tells you a lot.
__________________
Never trust a man who drives a car by choice...

Last edited by Munshaw; 02-26-2012 at 06:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:23 PM
EyeKing's Avatar
EyeKing EyeKing is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 228
Default

wow, seems to good to be true. I assume the lowrance are are gen 1 units. Even so great price.
__________________
Yamaha powered Skeeter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2012, 06:46 PM
scott.keeley's Avatar
scott.keeley scott.keeley is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ankeny, IA
Posts: 311
Default Must be Knock off's...

Must be knock offs. In the "about the company" info it's a Chinese company with zero customer reviews. Might have to give their customer service a call tomorrow just for fun. See if they can answer some questions specific to the product.

I've seen a lot of knock off products around the world (even have a $20 Rolex) but this one just smells wrong.
__________________
Scott Keeley
NPAA# 413
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:29 PM
jkonop's Avatar
jkonop jkonop is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Posts: 453
Default

Let us knwo what you find out, it has perked my attention.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:37 PM
K Gonefishin's Avatar
K Gonefishin K Gonefishin is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA.
Posts: 4,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munshaw View Post
Looks like a Chinese website.. Are they making knockoffs??? Those prices aren't remotely realistic. So yes, definitely fake. Aparently they only accept Western Union, so that tells you a lot.

Look closer Paypal and google checkout as well
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:49 PM
LWinches LWinches is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fontana Lake, NC, US.
Posts: 418
Default Not legit

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott.keeley View Post
Has anyone ever heard of or used this company to buy electronics?

http://toolscameras.com/index.php?ma...Path=18&page=3

Seems like one of those "too good to be true" deals. Wondering what the catch is...
You might want to look them over on this website.

http://www.scamwebsites.co.uk/avoid-...-websites.html
__________________
My wife asks if I'm going to fish everyday. I can't fish every day. Some days I might be sick.
L.Winchester
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:05 PM
Munshaw Munshaw is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Gonefishin View Post
Look closer Paypal and google checkout as well
Look closer still, neither one work. I checked out some of the "scam alert" websites and this one is listed there.

http://www.ripoffreport.com/on-line-...mera-2d751.htm
__________________
Never trust a man who drives a car by choice...

Last edited by Munshaw; 02-26-2012 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:08 PM
JDP's Avatar
JDP JDP is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN, USA.
Posts: 958
Default HuH: "most hot goods at a hot price"

http://toolscameras.com/about_us.html





Scary...very scary
__________________
This aggression will not stand, Man.


JDP

Last edited by JDP; 02-26-2012 at 08:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2012, 11:25 AM
Tates's Avatar
Tates Tates is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Little Chute, WI
Posts: 26
Default

I'd stay away from this site. I've looked around and have read several instances of people getting scammed. They only take western union money transfers. The stories all sound the same. People send the money and get nothing back. They're not even able to get a hold of anyone at the supposed company. Just google the site name and reviews and read for yourself.
__________________
Wolf River
Lake Winnebago
Green Bay
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 PM.