SCII graphite

ColumbiaR
12-05-2010, 09:49 PM
What is this compatible to in common terms? IM7, 8, or 9? Or is this not a good way to compare rods?

bfish
12-05-2010, 10:01 PM
....Or is this not a good way to compare rods?:exactly:

I Walleye
12-06-2010, 04:12 AM
There is no "IM" standard so one guys IM7 can be another guys IM9.

crappieman
12-06-2010, 07:29 AM
As the others have stated, there is no standard in the industry. Check out St Croix's web site and I believe they define the modulus in numbers, ie; 33 million vs 65 million. Most other rod manufactures also have this info on their websites. Then you need to know there are different scrim factors involved. Generally speaking the lower modulus rods are "tougher" but not always the case. If you are ever in the area, take a tour of the St Croix factory, you will not be disappointed. Being a custom rod builder I try to give customers a quick lesson on modulus ratings so they can understand which rod blank fits their application the best. Of course the other factor is price point which in these times is huge to most avereage fishermen. ALL the St Croix blanks are of excellent quality no matter which you choose. There are some other companies out there producing some nice blanks and the offshore produced blanks can be of good quality also as they are making great strides in this area. You will find in my estimation that a good offshore made blank will be in the same price point range as the American made blanks. Keep in mind also that rod blanks are produced by companies for other branded names as well, kinda like tires, batteeries and other things. They are built for cusomers to their specs. Other rod builders on here can weigh in with some good advice too. Bear in mind what I'm talking about here generally holds true to the non custom made rods that are sold off the shelf in retail stores. When it comes to higher end retail rods most of my customers are surprised to find that a custom rod can be built better and t