Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Insight HD or Insight Pro (2013) - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2013, 08:21 AM
Grinder1 Grinder1 is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Weston, WI
Posts: 122
Default Insight HD or Insight Pro (2013)

I've purchased an Elite 7 HDI and for the life of me can't figure out if it makes more sense to buy the insight pro or insight HD lake map chip? I fish WI lakes 99% of the time with the Turtle Flambeau Flowage being the primary body of water. I don't have a problem spending the additional $50 for the HD card if there is an advantage but if not can find another way to spend it. Any feedback is appreciated!

Grinder

Last edited by Grinder1; 04-16-2013 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-17-2013, 06:38 AM
Grinder1 Grinder1 is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Weston, WI
Posts: 122
Default My bad?

I see a bunch of guys looked at my post but no one has answered. I think that means I either asked a good question or a dumb one From what I gather there are advantages to the HD card when used with Lowrance HDS style units for certain, I'm just not clear if that's the case with the Elite 7?
Thanks!

Grinder
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2013, 09:57 AM
unlogged nc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I might be wrong but my understanding is the Elite 7 HDI will not support the HD chip, jus the Pro.

I bought the Pro but have not used it yet. I have the same unit and going from memory believe my statement above is correct.

I called Reeds in Walker and that is where I purchased and obtained info.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 04-17-2013, 10:48 AM
1860Angler's Avatar
1860Angler 1860Angler is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brainerd, MN
Posts: 2,642
Default It will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by unlogged nc View Post
I might be wrong but my understanding is the Elite 7 HDI will not support the HD chip, jus the Pro.

I bought the Pro but have not used it yet. I have the same unit and going from memory believe my statement above is correct.

I called Reeds in Walker and that is where I purchased and obtained info.

Good luck!
I think either will work, the only difference (I think) is the HD adds High Definition Shaded relief.

Last edited by 1860Angler; 04-17-2013 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2013, 10:55 AM
JIGSTER JIGSTER is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: IOWA
Posts: 30
Default

I also recently purchased the Elite 7, I bought the pro chip. I was very impressed with it on the bigger 2 or 3 lakes I fish but there was a dramatic drop in the quality of maps in the next level smaller lakes. Went from 1 ft intervals on the bigger lakes to 5 and 9 ft intervals on the other lakes i fish which are actually very popular and high profile lakes. That was my only disappointment with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.