Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Lac Seul Lure Suggestions? - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Canada Eh? > Canada

Old 06-09-2018, 01:59 PM
Minnow

Default Lac Seul Lure Suggestions?

Going to be fishing on Lac Seul first week of July, out of Mahkwa Lodge. This is my first time fishing up north, never caught a Walleye/Pike/Musky in my life. I have rods/reels that should be able to handle anything from finesse rigs, to casting 10 oz lures.

Walleye: I plan on buying a bunch of bright colored jig heads 1/8 oz -> 1/2 oz, with some plastic curly tail grubs, and maybe some small swimbaits for drop shotting.

Pike: I have some bass gear such as jerk baits and spinner baits I was going to try.

Musky: Was looking at DOMINATRIX #10 double bladed bucktails, not sure what the difference is between those, and the higher dollar bucktails. Not really focusing on Musky, so I would just be getting the barebones, few bucktails I suppose.

What would be some essential lures I should pickup before heading up north? Any colors I should focus on? Appreciate any input you guys can give.

Last edited by LundPuller; 06-09-2018 at 04:25 PM. Reason: Wrong Month
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-09-2018, 04:13 PM
Wallhanger

It's the 9th of June now so I assume you mean July.

Otherwise Muskie isn't open yet.

Jigs you won't use anything as heavy as 1/2 oz unless you are fishing in heavy current, the heaviest I have in my two jib boxes are 3/8 except a couple rigged up with huge tube baits for Lakers.

Most if not all of my walleye fishing is done with 3/16 oz jigs I buy at Scheels, they work great are cheap and unless you are fishing in 30' of water or it's really windy they work perfectly. Otherwise 1/4.