Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
LOTW Whitefish Bay/Sabaskong Bay - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Muskie Central > General Discussion

Old 06-03-2016, 04:34 PM
Minnow

Default LOTW Whitefish Bay/Sabaskong Bay

I'm heading up to Whitefish Bay the second week in August. This is my first time fishing this area. It seems to have a mixed bag of reports. Some really like it. Some hate it. The hunt for a big fish appeals to me. I'm looking for any tips or advice on the area. Lure choices, structure to look for, maps to get. etc.. Also might try Sabaskong Bay for a day or 2. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.
jonnyfish185
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-07-2016, 11:18 AM
Wallhanger

I can't comment on Whitefish but I would suggest staying on one section (either WF or Sab) rather than going back and forth. Get to know one of the areas and develop a milk run of spots. It may take a full day or more to get something going on one body so don't switch it up. If I had to guess, main lake reefs/island complexes would be the spots to hit on Whitefish that time of year, it's where I'd start on a new body. The larger, more complex probably the better however don't overlook smaller spots as well.
Old 06-08-2016, 09:08 AM
guest1

I've fished Whitefish a few times for musky. Don't expect to put many fish in the boat, but you have a real shot at landing a BIG fish. You're going to have to put the time and effort in but when you see one of the huge pigs WF holds, you will realize it is all worth it. Don't be afraid to fish deeper (reefs that top out at 20-30 feet), hit your typical complex spots, and really focus on hitting prime spots on overcast days. Good luck!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2016, 02:48 PM
Charter Member