Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Humminbird helix setup question - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2019, 08:27 AM
Ryltar Ryltar is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Default Humminbird helix setup question

I currently have a humminbird helix 10 mega DI. I just ordered a humminbird helix 9 mega side imaging. I also have a Minn Kota Terrova iPilot Link.

I was thinking about putting the helix 9 mega SI in the rear of the boat, with the helix 10 mega DI at the bow, where I'm usually fishing from and controlling the trolling motor, with both helix units and the ipilot link networked.


Would this work smoothly to display side imaging on the helix 10 DI when networked? I want to utilize the higher pixel count of the helix 10 and also the mega side imaging of the helix 9.


Thank you.

Last edited by Ryltar; 09-06-2019 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-06-2019, 01:43 PM
RistoRap RistoRap is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 402
Default

If the 10 is only DI and not SI, you will not be able to share side imaging from the 9. Both units need to have SI built in to do so.
See posts #6 & 7 https://www.walleyecentral.com/forum...d.php?t=697898

Last edited by RistoRap; 09-06-2019 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2019, 07:18 AM
rnvinc rnvinc is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RistoRap View Post
If the 10 is only DI and not SI, you will not be able to share side imaging from the 9. Both units need to have SI built in to do so.
See posts #6 & 7 https://www.walleyecentral.com/forum...d.php?t=697898
Just a little clarification ...

The OP in this thread : https://www.walleyecentral.com/forum...d.php?t=697898 was asking about physically connecting a SI xducer to a Sonar only unit to get SI on the Sonar only unit ... (which is not possible) ...

The OP in the current thread here is asking about sharing Sonar from G2N to G2N thru ethernet ... (which is possible) ...

Page 32 (indicated in 10" G2N units)
https://www.humminbird.com/sites/hum...grid_v10_0.pdf

Rickie
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-2019, 10:03 AM
Ryltar Ryltar is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Default

I figured it would work. Does anyone have any experience with a similar setup utilizing a larger screen fishfinder networked to pull mega side imaging from another unit? Does it work smoothly?



Would it be worth doing? Or should I just run them non networked, and the Helix 9 mega SI unit on the bow where I am. I mainly want two units so that the people I have fishing with me can see what structure is coming up in a drift.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2019, 08:28 PM
SLE SLE is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central North Dakota
Posts: 839
Default

I can weigh in and help on this. My boat is setup with a helix 10 G2N SI at the the bow, a Helix 10 G3N SI and a Helix G3N DI at the console. Have them networked through the HB Ethernet hub along with my MK Ulterra.

With this setup, I can pull the side imaging and down imaging and 2d sonar from the mast SI unit on the dash to both the DI unit on the dash and the front G2N SI bow unit.

A few things to note; you’ll need to use the correct y cable to connect both the 2d and SI to the primary SI unit. When you fire up all the units, I notice it takes the slave units a few minutes to network and pickup the signal from the master unit.

About the only problems I’ve experienced is I also have the front unit connected to my Minnkota TM transducer and it will always default to the transducer that’s direct connected to the unit. If I want to pull 2d through the network from the rear transducer on the bow unit, I have to manually change it every time I power down the unit.

Hope this helps,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2019, 08:35 PM
SLE SLE is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central North Dakota
Posts: 839
Default

FYI, I would network them, it works very well. If you have an I-link trolling motor, I would also highly recommend adding it to the network. You can then navigate to points and follow contours with the TM. You can also mark waypoints from the TM remote and you can also control the TM through your helix units. I never thought I’d ever use that part of it but it’s super handy for deploying and retracting the ulterra and you also get a direction indicator on you god screen showing the direction your TM is pointed and another showing your expected path taking into account current, wind, etc. works pretty slick!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2019, 09:10 PM
bbheli bbheli is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLE View Post
I can weigh in and help on this. My boat is setup with a helix 10 G2N SI at the the bow, a Helix 10 G3N SI and a Helix G3N DI at the console. Have them networked through the HB Ethernet hub along with my MK Ulterra.

With this setup, I can pull the side imaging and down imaging and 2d sonar from the mast SI unit on the dash to both the DI unit on the dash and the front G2N SI bow unit.

A few things to note; youíll need to use the correct y cable to connect both the 2d and SI to the primary SI unit. When you fire up all the units, I notice it takes the slave units a few minutes to network and pickup the signal from the master unit.

About the only problems Iíve experienced is I also have the front unit connected to my Minnkota TM transducer and it will always default to the transducer thatís direct connected to the unit. If I want to pull 2d through the network from the rear transducer on the bow unit, I have to manually change it every time I power down the unit.

Hope this helps,
I think if you go to the network screen you can select what you want displayed where. When it comes up it takes a few moments to find everything - Don't select yes when it tells you not found because that is just the network has not found everything yet.
__________________
Lund 202 GL Pro V
300 Mercury Pro
15 HP Merc Kicker
15í Talon
Ultera
Humminbird Helix X 2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2019, 08:20 AM
SLE SLE is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central North Dakota
Posts: 839
Default

The problem is the unit automatically defaults to the sonar that is directly connected to the the unit each time the unit is totally powered off via the master power switch for the boat. Basically, because the TM sonar link is connected directly to the front Helix Unit, that's the one it auto defaults to. Yes , you can go in to the settings and select the other 2d transducer on the network, but you have to do this each time the unit it completely powered down. didn't have to do that with with my previous HDS setups.

My other complaint that I didn't mention is the way-point sharing. On my last boat I had 3 Lowrance HDS units. if I marked a way-point on one unit, it stored it on all three. If only one unit was powered on when you set a way-point, the other would pick it up and store it as soon as they were powered on. With the HB, it only actually stores on the unit you set it on. The way-point will display across all units on the network, however, if you shut off the unit it was originally set on, it will disappear from the other two units. Where this is a pita, is marking way-points on the bow unit because I do not always use that one. if it's not turned on, I then do not have access to those points unless I turn on the bow unit. Talking with support, they only way to transfer those points is to store them to and SD card and then put the SD card in the other units and download the points. its dumb. This could be easily rectified with a simple software update but I'm sure bird won't do it. It's one of my biggest complaints, well that and they were clueless about networking my G2N to the new G3Ns and the transducer compatibility last spring but that's a whole nother story, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2019, 01:29 PM
red reno red reno is offline
Slot Fish
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 79
Default

Yes, you can network them together with the networking hub. I have a non SI/DI Helix 10 connected with a Helix 10 that is SI/DI and it is nice to be able to view that on both units. PM me if you have any questions about it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.