Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
SUV brake problem when launching boat - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Walleye Message Central > General Discussion

Old 07-13-2021, 08:20 PM
Keeper

Default SUV brake problem when launching boat

If I back my trailer into the lake when launching/loading to float the boat off/on I occasionally have brake problems. The rear wheels on my 2009 AWD Toyota Highlander can at times get submerged almost halfway up the wheels. When that happens I "think" one of the brake disk pads may temporarily lock up or drag for a while making noise and even locking up a wheel when in reverse. I did have new brakes put in about a year ago and am wondering if this has happened to others or if there is a solution to this problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-14-2021, 04:32 AM
Wallhanger

I've been trailering for 50 yrs and never had a brake problem except when using the emergency brake and the cables froze up and had to be cut with bolt cutters at the wheel.

do you set the emergency brake? sounds like it may be sticking.
Old 07-14-2021, 06:28 AM
Wallhanger

Default emergency brake?

I'd echo Last Chance's remarks.

Don't know if you're using the emergency brake when launching or not, but My experience and the advice from several mechanics is the same on the subject. Either use the emergency brake every time you park the car or don't use it at all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-14-2021, 06:57 AM
Wallhanger

Default I suggest calling it a parking brake

Use the parking brake every time you park. Vehicles have a way of moving on their own when the they are not quite all the way in "park". Lots of insurance claims result, usually blamed on the manufacturer.
Old 07-14-2021, 07:28 AM
Wallhanger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave G View Post