Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Prisoner of War Camps in Northern Ontario - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Canada Eh? > Canada

Old 06-14-2017, 03:07 PM
Minnow

Default Prisoner of War Camps in Northern Ontario

As I've come across a few similar posts on the topic, I hope it is okay to post this here.

I'm doing my PhD in history, looking at the lives of German PoWs and their guards employed in bush camps in Northern Ontario (and the rest of the country as well) and am hoping you can provide with some more information about camps you may have come across.

I am particularly interested in any stories you may have, photographs of the sites (old or new), and any information you might have on the locations of some of these camps. While I have hundreds of pages of documents pertaining to what happened in the camps, the locations (with the exception of the railway siding or the odd mention of a lake) were not preserved in the archives. I should mention I already have the locations of the five camps (some sources say six, but only five employed PoWs) on Lake of the Woods as well as some of those in the Regan, Minataree, and Mapgie areas.