Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Seasickness on Erie - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Walleye Message Central > General Discussion

Old 05-17-2020, 11:40 AM
Wallhanger

Default Seasickness on Erie

I'm taking my two sons on weekend Lake Eire trip, going out with a captain. I've never done this before so I'm not totally sure what to expect. Neither of us are particularly susceptible to motion sickness (at least I don't think so), but I'd hate to get out there and find out too late that we should have taken Dramamine or another product. From what I know, once you start feeling queasy, it's too late and you just have to suffer through it, so I was thinking it would be a good idea to take something in advance, just to make sure. I've heard Dramamine can make you super drowsy for a long time so I'd like to avoid that.

So my questions are:
  1. Do you think it's necessary to take something? When we get closer to the date I'll talk to the captain to see how far out we'll likely be going. I'd think that as long as we can see land we'd be okay.
  2. What's a good, non-drowsy alternative to Dramamine?
Traxxis
HB 999hd SI
HB 858c
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2020, 11:45 AM
Wallhanger

My wife and I went out a couple years ago with Juls and we had to take her back due to seasickness. When we took cruises she had patches that she put behind her ear. They are an RX item so you will need a prescription.
Old 05-17-2020, 11:54 AM
Wallhanger

Meclizine 25mg works well for my wife's Vertigo. It is available OTC. We fish Lake Oahe a lot and no matter how rough it gets she has no problem with seasickness.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2020, 12:00 PM
Wallhanger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark R View Post
My wife and I went out a couple years ago with Juls and we had to take her back due to seasickness.