Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Will the new Lowrance HDS units use a LGC 3000 puck? - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:05 PM
uzzi uzzi is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada.
Posts: 348
Default Will the new Lowrance HDS units use a LGC 3000 puck?

Just curious if the new HDS units will work using the 3000 puck Currently have a 520C, want to move that to the bow and get a new HDS unit (I was considering an old stock 37C, but can't seem to find a good deal anymore, most places out of stock)........so anyways, just curious if the new unit can work with a 3000 puck. I know it says a 4000 puck

And if it will only work with the 4000 puck, will the old 520C work with the new 4000 puck? I want to hook them both up to the GPS module to get readings at the same time

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-2009, 08:31 PM
BCLII BCLII is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MN/AZ
Posts: 1,665
Default

The new HDS units have the internal GPS 4000 built inside. link together with the e-net cable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:37 AM
blueicecpa blueicecpa is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 317
Default

the LGC 4000 puck gets you ~ 1 meeter away, refreshed 5 times a second.


I would never go back to a LGc 3000, that position loop is anywhere ~ 40' around you depending on the satellights
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-2009, 08:51 AM
Brian2010unlogged
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default HDS Internal Antennae

The built in antenae is the 3000 not the 4000. To get the faster update speed you have to purchase the external one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2009, 12:42 PM
uzzi uzzi is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada.
Posts: 348
Default

So does anyone know if the 520C will work with the 4000 puck? And does it need a different color connectors now? I think currently I'm using red ones with the 520C and the 3000, sound right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2009, 05:23 PM
VaGuy VaGuy is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 362
Default Nmea2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by uzzi View Post
So does anyone know if the 520C will work with the 4000 puck? And does it need a different color connectors now? I think currently I'm using red ones with the 520C and the 3000, sound right?
They are all nmea 2000. That means they will all work together.
All use the same connectors (except the lgc2000, needs an adapter
cable to use with the newer models, but is still nmea 2000).

It may be out there but I have not seen an LGC 4000 on the market yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2009, 07:12 PM
blueicecpa blueicecpa is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 317
Default

They are out now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2009, 11:11 AM
uzzi uzzi is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada.
Posts: 348
Default

OK, thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2009, 09:05 AM
Backwater Eddy's Avatar
Backwater Eddy Backwater Eddy is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: In a van down by the river.
Posts: 3,872
Lightbulb New 4000 is much faster

The new 4000 is much faster, and far more accurate, so given the choice I would use it and or upgrade my receiver with the adapter cable on older models.

I think the 4000's will be in short supply due to popularity by mid summer...just a hunch.

If I was a 522 user for instance, and I did not wish to replace it anytime soon.... I would seriously consider adding the new 4000 receiver/conversion cable, it should dramatically enhance it's GPS performance and reliability.
__________________
Ed "Backwater Eddy" Carlson
"ED on the RED"
><,sUMo,>

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2009, 12:20 PM
SonarMan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Wait a minute

I always adjust my GPS update speed for the type of fishing I do. I just went through my settings menu on a LCX unit and the maximum GPS update setting with the latest software is once per second. So unless Lowrance is going to offer a software update for the LXC units to increase update time the LGC4000 would be a waste of money. You will only get 1 update per second from the new antenna which is already available with the LGC2000 and 3000 GPS Antennas.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.