Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
New Boat Set-up - Page 2 - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-09-2021, 06:42 AM
7 Mag's Avatar
7 Mag 7 Mag is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Plymouth, IN
Posts: 1,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richb View Post
I thought that the hummingbirds already had the lake maps built in. Would I still need chips for different lakes with the Helix units?
They have built in mapping however youíll need the Lakemaster chip to use follow the contour and the chips provide greater detail and other features. Take a look at their website they discuss the different chips and features as there are different versions available.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #12  
Old 04-09-2021, 06:44 AM
7 Mag's Avatar
7 Mag 7 Mag is online now
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Plymouth, IN
Posts: 1,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richb View Post
They offer an MSI through hull transducer with the Helix. Any experience on whether or not this performs as well as the transom mounted transducer?
No I donít have any experience with that transducer.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-09-2021, 06:56 AM
Timmer92 Timmer92 is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MN - Twin Cities, North Metro
Posts: 259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowking View Post
Normally I think of can not share mapping. As if you have a mapping chip such as Lakemaster in your dash unit. The lakemaster map only shows up on your dash unit. You would need a lakemaster chip for both units.
I have similar questions as I have a new boat on order with 3 graphs. I used to an IT guy, and based on networking I think I understand functions and limitations. My THOUGHTS, not knowledge as of yet:

- Your graphs, trolling motor, and GPS head will be physically connected to Humminbird ethernet switch. Nothing will be directly connected to a graph or trolling motor. Therefore, all devices are physically available to each other over the Humminbird network and no device will "see" another as being physically different from another from a connectivity perspective.
- The i-Pilot software is what allows the graphs to "talk" to the trolling motor over the network. You will be able to use this feature from any graph that is capable of using i-Pilot Link.
- When at a graph, you will only be able to perform the functions available on that graph. If I'm at graph 1 which has a map chip, I can set it to go to a waypoint or follow a contour based on data from the map chip. If I'm at graph 2, where I don't have a map chip, I can set a waypoint using generic graph location data, but not based on map chip details because I don't have a chip in graph 2.
-Given the above, this is where it gets interesting to me. What I can't say for sure is what happens if two graphs are talking to the trolling motor at the same time. In general, I don't foresee a problem with 2 graphs talking to the trolling motor as I imagine it's just like having two different computers connected to 1 printer. Each will talk to it independently. What I'm interested to understand is what happens if I'm giving the trolling motor commands from 2 different units? If I go to graph 1 and tell the trolling motor to go to waypoint 1, then I go to graph 2 and tell the trolling motor to go to waypoint 2, what happens? Have they built something into the software to tell it to use the most recent command, or do they fight? Does the trolling motor lose its marbles? Does it spin in circles?

Anyone with real knowledge certainly chime in!
__________________
Timmer
All of the tools, some of the skills!

Last edited by Timmer92; 04-09-2021 at 07:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14  
Old 04-10-2021, 11:57 AM
TomP.'s Avatar
TomP. TomP. is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: .
Posts: 2,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmer92 View Post
I have similar questions as I have a new boat on order with 3 graphs. I used to an IT guy, and based on networking I think I understand functions and limitations. My THOUGHTS, not knowledge as of yet:

- Your graphs, trolling motor, and GPS head will be physically connected to Humminbird ethernet switch. Nothing will be directly connected to a graph or trolling motor. Therefore, all devices are physically available to each other over the Humminbird network and no device will "see" another as being physically different from another from a connectivity perspective.
- The i-Pilot software is what allows the graphs to "talk" to the trolling motor over the network. You will be able to use this feature from any graph that is capable of using i-Pilot Link.
- When at a graph, you will only be able to perform the functions available on that graph. If I'm at graph 1 which has a map chip, I can set it to go to a waypoint or follow a contour based on data from the map chip. If I'm at graph 2, where I don't have a map chip, I can set a waypoint using generic graph location data, but not based on map chip details because I don't have a chip in graph 2.
-Given the above, this is where it gets interesting to me. What I can't say for sure is what happens if two graphs are talking to the trolling motor at the same time. In general, I don't foresee a problem with 2 graphs talking to the trolling motor as I imagine it's just like having two different computers connected to 1 printer. Each will talk to it independently. What I'm interested to understand is what happens if I'm giving the trolling motor commands from 2 different units? If I go to graph 1 and tell the trolling motor to go to waypoint 1, then I go to graph 2 and tell the trolling motor to go to waypoint 2, what happens? Have they built something into the software to tell it to use the most recent command, or do they fight? Does the trolling motor lose its marbles? Does it spin in circles?

Anyone with real knowledge certainly chime in!
The trolling motor will make the change to the second input because that was last command.

Each unit will have it`s own transducer connected, each unit will be connected to the network via cable to the ethernet box, which will then share that across the network.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-10-2021, 12:04 PM
TomP.'s Avatar
TomP. TomP. is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: .
Posts: 2,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richb View Post
They offer an MSI through hull transducer with the Helix. Any experience on whether or not this performs as well as the transom mounted transducer?
MinnKota offers a DI 2D shoot thru in hull transducer ( for high speed ) I have never seen an in hull shoot thru SI transducer as that would never work. They offer one where you have to drill a hole thru the hull so the SI transducer in placed in the water.

Last edited by TomP.; 04-10-2021 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-13-2021, 10:04 PM
FinmanPoozie FinmanPoozie is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North New Jersey
Posts: 280
Default

If you call Humminbird, their customer service is willing to spend tons of time figuring it all out

MDI- bow
MSI- helm

I have 1 Helix 9, 2 Helix 10s, 2 Hummiinbird networks connected together, Ultrex with iPilot (& MDI-- MSI is not an option). 2 units are on transducers & I have 2 other sets of cable ran for extra mounting locations. There's a plethora of options when it's all networked

With all of their mapping options, they literally spent a couple hours helping me figure it out. Same for when I had to pick the sonars out too. Super helpful.

PM me if you want & I can elaborate more to see if it helps

Happy fishing!!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-14-2021, 03:34 AM
Richb Richb is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks! I ended up ordering 3 solix 12’s, an ultrex, and a 360 transducer that will mount on the TM. My only concern at this point is that there may be times when I would rather fish and control the boat from the back. In this case I’ll prob have to switch to a terrova and mount the 360 off the rail. So your comment about having multiple mounting locations is intriguing. I’m gonna fish with the boat like this for a season before making any changes though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.