Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Will this SS3D/HDI Transducer Mounting Work? - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2019, 07:46 PM
Albertan's Avatar
Albertan Albertan is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, CANADA.
Posts: 348
Default Will this SS3D/HDI Transducer Mounting Work?

I'm replacing my old LSS-1/HST-WSBL setup with a new SS3D/HDI setup on the transom of my boat. I read through the manuals regarding where to optimally mount each transducer. I understand the SS3D is supposed to be inside and slightly below the HDI. I also understand they are supposed to be next to each other for the downscan overlay to work properly. But the HDI Installation Manual expressly states not to mount it near a strake or rib on the hull due to potential turbulence. I think I have the SS3D mounted more or less where I want to try it when the season starts...just high enough so that it's out of the water at speed. But mocking the HDI up in the old HST-WSBL holes (I know it's a bit too low right now)puts it really close to the SS3D transducer and right next to a rib. I'm not sure if this will work or if I need to make some drastic changes for Spring. I never really used my old StructureScan and the HST was wonky at times to be sure, although I am not sure that placement was the issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ducer1.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	133.1 KB
ID:	307554   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ducer2.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	307556   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ducer3.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	142.2 KB
ID:	307558  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-26-2019, 08:46 AM
Waxy Waxy is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Calgary AB Canada
Posts: 2,259
Default

It looks pretty good to me.

I'd say the SS3D is pretty much bang on where you want it height wise, you might have to experiment a bit with the tilt angle. You'll likely have to trim up the big motor a bit to get full sonar coverage on the port side.

I'd say your HDI is mounted a little low right now, I think you'll have a pretty big rooster tail and a lot of drag. I can see why you did it to try and compensate for the strake. I'm not sure how that strake will affect things, it might cause some problems, but with where the HDI is placed now, you might be OK. Without the strake, I'd say you could move it up almost a 1/4", maybe even a bit more and still be OK. At any rate, I think you're at a good starting point, but I'd expect to have to do a little trial and error to get it dialed in perfectly. It wouldn't really surprise me if you had to add another transducer board and move the HDI away from that strake and over in line with your other bunk to get a really good 2D signal at speed. I don't think that would cause you too much grief in terms of your 2D overlay or Fish Reveal, you'd still be within about 12-14" by the look of it.

Waxy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2019, 09:07 AM
Albertan's Avatar
Albertan Albertan is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, CANADA.
Posts: 348
Default

Thanks for your feedback. You're not the first person to express some concern about that strake. I think I am going to move the SS3D over to the same location on the port ducer board, and move the HDI down to where the SS3D is currently to get it away from that strake. Since the HDI has downscan and 2D, I don't need to worry about having both transducers close together for downscan overlay/fish reveal (took a moment for that to click). And I won't be going too fast when using the SS3D ducer, so prop wash on the port side shouldn't be an issue as best I can tell. Lots of on the water testing to follow for sure. I'm just trying to "get it on the paper" for Spring.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-2019, 09:34 AM
Pooch's Avatar
Pooch Pooch is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: The dysfunctional "state?" of Illinois
Posts: 3,750
Default

Lay a straight edge along the bottom of the hull to get an idea of where the water flow will cross the the transducer. I run mine just deep enough to get a signal at speed without throwing any rooster tail. Good place to start then tweak it on the water.

Besides height of the 'ducer, pitch forward and aft can make a big difference. Keep in mind that the overall angle of the boat changes on plane. Getting that right is usually the hardest part for me.

Nice job of mounting. That stringer might be a problem?

Pooch
__________________

"Human beings seldom think for themselves... For the most part, members of our species simply repeat what they are told and become upset if they are exposed to any different view. The characteristic human trait is not awareness but conformity... We are stubborn, self-destructive conformists. Any other view of our species is just a self-congratulatory delusion."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2019, 10:13 AM
Albertan's Avatar
Albertan Albertan is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, CANADA.
Posts: 348
Default

Yeah, I did that Pooch when I mounted the SS3D transducer. Like I said, I have that one about where I wanted it height-wise. The HDI is just mounted in the holes from the old skimmer to mock it up and that's as high as it will go. I didn't want to drill new holes because I thought right off the bat I was going to have a problem with that strake where it was. Nothing another $150 in extension cables for the SS3D won't fix. lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2019, 11:09 AM
Pooch's Avatar
Pooch Pooch is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: The dysfunctional "state?" of Illinois
Posts: 3,750
Default

I'm probably an outlier here, but I've never worried about keeping the transducers close to each other. I've got the down/side imaging on one side of the motor and the 2D on the other.

The fish reveal works fine. Maybe the fish are not shown exactly where they actually are displayed on the screen, but so what? All I want to know is, could there be fish present that I can't see on the 2D 'ducer? Where they are exactly just isn't important to me. If the electronics thinks fish may or may not be there I'll fish for them, if not I'll keep moving/looking.

Fish reveal can be a game changer. How many times have we not marked any fish on the 2D, but catch one fish and suddenly the screen is full of fish suddenly interested in the commotion. Those fish were belly on the bottom, in the rocks and invisible to the 2D. The Fish reveal has made me more confident that there might be or probably are fish there. So I tend to give that spot a slightly longer look before moving on.

Besides that, I didn't have a clear place to locate both transducers next to each other avoiding stringers and props...

Pooch
__________________

"Human beings seldom think for themselves... For the most part, members of our species simply repeat what they are told and become upset if they are exposed to any different view. The characteristic human trait is not awareness but conformity... We are stubborn, self-destructive conformists. Any other view of our species is just a self-congratulatory delusion."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2019, 11:15 AM
ltrain ltrain is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,152
Default

Hey Albertan, I think you'd be best mounting your transducers on the opposite side of your kicker motor. Think that kicker will interfere with your side scan and the prop wash from it with your 2d when you are trolling. I had a Tyee with a kicker on the starboard side and put my transducers on the port side and they did fine. As you already figured that strake will mess with you at speed too so try to avoid the strake on the port side too.
__________________
1987 Lund Baron
2005 Yamaha f150
1994 9.5 hp Mercury 2stroke with controllking
Rhodan 72" 36v 120 lb. thrust trolling motor
2 Simrad NSS12
Lowrance HDS 10 gen2
Lowrance point 1
Simrad is40
Sonarhub
LSS 1
2 36" Cannon tracks
2 Cannon electric downriggers
2 Highseas quad rod trees
6 Bert's ratcheting rod holders
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2019, 11:53 AM
Albertan's Avatar
Albertan Albertan is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, CANADA.
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pooch View Post
I'm probably an outlier here, but I've never worried about keeping the transducers close to each other. I've got the down/side imaging on one side of the motor and the 2D on the other.

The fish reveal works fine. Maybe the fish are not shown exactly where they actually are displayed on the screen, but so what? All I want to know is, could there be fish present that I can't see on the 2D 'ducer? Where they are exactly just isn't important to me. If the electronics thinks fish may or may not be there I'll fish for them, if not I'll keep moving/looking.

Fish reveal can be a game changer. How many times have we not marked any fish on the 2D, but catch one fish and suddenly the screen is full of fish suddenly interested in the commotion. Those fish were belly on the bottom, in the rocks and invisible to the 2D. The Fish reveal has made me more confident that there might be or probably are fish there. So I tend to give that spot a slightly longer look before moving on.

Besides that, I didn't have a clear place to locate both transducers next to each other avoiding stringers and props...

Pooch

I haven't had the chance to use Fish Reveal yet, but I'm looking forward to it. Since the HDI has 2D and downscan, I don't have to worry about how close together the transducers are anyways in my application.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2019, 12:02 PM
Albertan's Avatar
Albertan Albertan is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, CANADA.
Posts: 348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ltrain View Post
Hey Albertan, I think you'd be best mounting your transducers on the opposite side of your kicker motor. Think that kicker will interfere with your side scan and the prop wash from it with your 2d when you are trolling. I had a Tyee with a kicker on the starboard side and put my transducers on the port side and they did fine. As you already figured that strake will mess with you at speed too so try to avoid the strake on the port side too.
I'm going to move the SS3D to the port side and move the HDI down to where the SS3D is in the pictures...so one on each side. My reasoning is that the SS3D will be used mostly off plane, so prop wash from the big motor shouldn't be a factor. I may have to tilt the 300 up just to get a good starboard sidescan image. Keeping the HDI on the port side follows Lowrance's recommendation not to mount the transducer within 3' of the prop on the port side. I'll have to see if and how the kicker affects the HDI, and be prepared to move it if necessary. I kinda wish my kicker was on the port side, but I have a Vantage there. There are props all over the transom of my boat. lol.

I think there are some setups that go against general recommendations with good results, and some setups where maybe people's results aren't great but they are not even aware it could be better. I'm trying to follow Lowrance's recommendations, augmented by feedback from experienced users, to get the best results when open water arrives in a couple of months. Then it's just tweaking from there.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2019, 01:12 PM
Albertan's Avatar
Albertan Albertan is offline
Keeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, CANADA.
Posts: 348
Default

It took me a little longer to move these around, as I was waiting for the extension cables for the SS3D which were on backorder. It looks like I will now need an extension for the HDI as well. I decided to re-route the transducer cables under the port side gunnel instead of the starboard side. The starboard side has a bundle of wires around 2" in diameter, including power wires. The port side has nothing but two speaker wires. Hopefully that can help reduce any chance of interference as well. Anyways, I've attached some pictures of the new mounting. Hopefully no one sees any potential issues. I still have to finalize the position of the 'ducers on the water. But I think both should be fairly close now. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1069.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	498.3 KB
ID:	308608   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1070.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	513.4 KB
ID:	308610   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1071.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	515.1 KB
ID:	308612   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1072.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	525.9 KB
ID:	308614   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1074.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	506.0 KB
ID:	308616  

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SW Release for Lowrance Carbon and SS3D Hawker Electronics 4 01-09-2019 11:54 AM
SS3D install questions jmlassi Electronics 1 03-26-2017 12:12 PM
Lowrance Elite 7x HDI, Lowrance Elite 5x HDI beeman Swap Board - $500 LIMIT ON ALL POSTS, INCLUDING WTB. 0 05-03-2015 12:02 AM
Lowrance Elite 7 HDI or HDI CHIRP??? JinxCanada Electronics 18 03-09-2015 06:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.