Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Auto chart live help. See pic - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2019, 05:20 PM
jboutdoorguy jboutdoorguy is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Default Auto chart live help. See pic

I have struggled with my auto chart live ever since I started using it with my new helix. Some areas it works good but I'd say up to half the time it doesn't record a map instead just a blue blob. It is extremely frustrating because I forked out the money for a zero lines card with high hopes of mapping some lakes and I really can't even do it. Does anyone else have this issue? I have tried a bunch of settings and turning record off and back on. I even noticed in one area I pass through a lot it won't record there. Very strange. Another disappointment is shallow water recording. I am near shallow lakes and even though I have it set on 1 foot contours and minimum depth at zero I believe the minimum it seems to mark a contour line is 5 feet? If anyone can help me with the blue part please do.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	acl.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	181.0 KB
ID:	311678  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-11-2019, 07:26 PM
kzoofisher's Avatar
kzoofisher kzoofisher is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kalamazoo, Mi
Posts: 2,991
Default

Never had any issues like that. Do you get the same blobs recording directly to the head? Maybe your ZLC is corrupted. What software are you running? On what model? Iíll admit that Iím afraid to update my unit to the latest version because Iíve heard of people having si trouble with it. Last update I did, 1.64 I think, the si is really good but the di sucks. I use si much more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2019, 07:54 PM
jboutdoorguy jboutdoorguy is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Default

I will pull the card tomorrow and record directly to the head and see what happens. I'm not sure what software I'm running. It's a new this year Helix G3 with whatever software it came with.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 07-12-2019, 03:15 AM
kzoofisher's Avatar
kzoofisher kzoofisher is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kalamazoo, Mi
Posts: 2,991
Default

When you power up go to the status page, software version will be listed there.

And call tech support if you can spare the time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2019, 05:05 AM
Dore Dore is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa. Ontario Canada
Posts: 43
Default

I am new ACL user from this year so my knowledge is limited but I think that I had something that sounds similar. Is it possible that the blue blob is a bottom hardness/vegetation indication? I can't power up my Helix to check but I think that there might be a transparency setting for that also allows the depth lines to show
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2019, 07:40 AM
Diesel Pro Diesel Pro is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Central WI
Posts: 928
Default

One thing I will say is that you need more tracks. Just a once over is not sufficient. You should be working a grid pattern in a crossing pattern.


Definitely update the software and be sure that you have the depth offset dialed in proper to match the transducer depth.
__________________
2018 Ranger 1880 MS Angler
200 Verado L4
112 Ulterra Link
Solix 12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2019, 07:55 AM
jboutdoorguy jboutdoorguy is offline
Minnow
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 68
Default

Thank you all. Yes I know I need to work a grid pattern was just using this as an example. Dore was right on. It was a bottom hardness thing. See pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	153.9 KB
ID:	311700   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	311702  
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-2019, 06:25 PM
kzoofisher's Avatar
kzoofisher kzoofisher is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kalamazoo, Mi
Posts: 2,991
Default

Set the acl transparency at 0 and the bottom type at 30. You should still be able to see the depth lines. I like to either turn depth colors off when Iím looking at hardness or choose a depth palette that is very different from the hardness palette. Very confusing for me when the depth and hardness colors are similar.

What are the min & max settings on hardness? Looks like it kind of blew up on you. In a lake that doesnít have much rock Iíll do min at 5 and max at 30. That shows me where mud goes to sand pretty well but if there were gravel leading to rock on a hump surrounded by mud it might look like your first pic. If the lake has rock Iíll do 5-60 or more depending on how often the rock is scattered or concentrated.

I still struggle with settings on hardness and weeds are pretty hopeless unless they are very well defined with clean, hard bottom around. That doesnít happen much in the lakes I fish.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-13-2019, 09:56 AM
bigdaddyguns's Avatar
bigdaddyguns bigdaddyguns is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: People's Republic of IL
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kzoofisher View Post
Last update I did, 1.64 I think, the si is really good but the di sucks. I use si much more.
I have Helix7 G2 SI and did the v2.0 update. So far the SI looks very good with the HDSI transducer. Don't have many hours on it yet but SI returns look better than before. Since this model does not have a real DI transducer I don't really use DI much either.

The one issue I hope that is fixed is the digital depth reading problem. I encountered that when running at high speeds (15-30 mph) and encountered depth readings that were deeper than actual. That posed problems for AC and ACL where manual editing was necessary to fix the source data and create more accurate maps.

Last year I noticed some intermittent GPS errors in my recorded files. I think the GPS issues have been fixed too.

So far I am happy with the v2.0 update. I hope to have more time on the water over the next month to put the unit thru its paces and have more data to examine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-13-2019, 11:25 AM
kzoofisher's Avatar
kzoofisher kzoofisher is offline
Wallhanger
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kalamazoo, Mi
Posts: 2,991
Default

Iíve got a G1 9si and the composite di has never been great. Current software is 1.61 and my depth readings are good. Not going to update unless they include something I canít live without.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.