Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
trolling for walleyes - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Walleye Message Central > Strictly Fishing

Old 05-23-2015, 04:22 AM
Slot Fish

Default trolling for walleyes

Ok, so with the new trolling law in wisconsin coming up here on July 1st, I have some questions. I was never able to troll on the lake I fish in vilas county. Never really target walleyes during the daytime either. I always went for them at sun down. With that being said, I want to get into drifting and trolling with worm harnesses or bottom bouncers, maybe it's the same thing, not to sure on that. I'm a novice when it comes to this. I am heading up to vilas county this Tuesday and want to try drifting with a worm harness over the flats, it's about 25 feet deep over the flats. My question is, is it too early to be trying that kind of technique? Are they still up shallow after the spawn? I am not sure what the water temp is up there. Is there a certain temp the water needs to get to before using a worm harness over the flats? Any advice would be appreciated since I am brand new to trying to catch those guys during the day time. I dont plan on using boards, just have my rod in hand with the bottom bouncer setup. I believe i should be using a 3 ounce weight with that, but not to certain on that either. Thanks for any info you guys can shoot my way.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-23-2015, 05:52 AM
Keeper