Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Musky line preferences? - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Muskie Central > General Discussion

Old 08-18-2021, 09:44 PM
Wallhanger

Default Musky line preferences?

I'm still a noob to musky fishing. Downrigger trolling is on my agenda starting in the next couple weeks. I'm not thinking of going deep but more along the lines of taking my 2-4' baits and dropping them down to the 10-20' ranges (different actions than my deep runners on extremely high pressure lakes here)

What are you guys using for downrigger trolling, casting in general & trolling in general for line?

I'm leaning toward 80# Suffix 832 across the board but have been told by some local guys that nothing less that 125# for casting which seems like overkill to me

I'm also thinking of a 150# Segaur Blue Label Big Game fluoro leaders instead of steel. 4' for trolling, 18"-2' for casting & making them single fish leaders

What are you guys using overall for musky these days?

Happy fishing!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2021, 08:09 AM
Slot Fish

I’m old school. We used 50# green spot w 12” 125# 7 strand which we tied ourself. I replaced it w a 60# braid...heavier if you have reel is big enough.