Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
Lac Seul Ear Falls GPS - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Canada Eh? > Canada

Old 04-23-2010, 01:42 PM
Minnow

Default Lac Seul Ear Falls GPS

I am in the market for a new depth finder. I also have a hand help GPS that I purchased in 1999. Think its time to upgrade!!

Can someone provide a recommendation on what would work well on Lac Seul? I am not an expert on electronics so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2010, 02:05 PM
Wallhanger

Default Gps

I'm a map guy, but have GPS. Lac Seul is huge but i believe the maps most camp site provide are easy to use and navigate. I assume you'll be driving up through Vermillion??? If so, stop at the gas station/market on the corner and buy the NW section of Lac Seul. The map the gas station has for sale is the best map I've seen for Lac Seul.
Old 04-23-2010, 09:03 PM
Keeper

lowrance h20 and get a navionics lake of the woods 2 chip. will show most hazards and is a very good map.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-24-2010, 07:24 PM
Minnow

Default Handheld GPS

Not a bad idea to replace your old handheld before it craps out. Mine died last year 15 minutes into our trip, yada yada yada; I bought my first lower unit.

I went with the Garmin 76CSX at walmart dot com for under $300. I also added the map chip from Garmin for another $100.

It's awesome how far these things have come in the last decade. The color screen is nice, it floats and adding a map chip makes a world of difference. With the map chip rocks and reefs are marked and you also have access to depths etc. I haven't had a chance to use it out on the lake yet, but I did a lot of research and feel like I made a good choice. There is an electronics message board on this site that I found helpful.

Good Luck,
Scott.