Home   |  Message Board   |  Information   |  Classifieds   |  Features   |  Video  |  Boat Reviews  |  Boat DIY
ranger weights - Walleye Message Central
Walleye Message Central

Go Back   Walleye Message Central > Boats, Motors, Electronics and Trailers > Boats

Old 07-09-2019, 06:22 PM
Keeper

Default ranger weights

I always fret too much prior to our big trip to canada and fearful of over loading the trailer. I'm an engineer and have a spreadsheet for everything and when calculating the weight I have in the trailer I question the listing of boat weights on the ranger sites. My gut says something is off with the weights they post.

I know i should roll through a scale but never had a chance....

I have an 2017 ranger 1880.

Ranger web site listed length and weights below for various boats

Ranger 1880 = 2290lbs / 18' 10"
Ranger 2080 = 2400lbs / 20' 9"
Ranger 619 = 2275lbs / 19'10"
Ranger 620 = 2340lbs / 20' 7"
Ranger 621 = 2400lbs / 21' 10"

Skeeter MX1825 = 2075lbs / 18' 4"
Skeeter WX1910 = 2175lbs / 19' 1"
Skeeter WX2060 = 2750lb / 20'6"

I have a single axle trailer with a GVWR of 4500lbs. I calculate with everything in it I'm right at 4500lbs. This includes extra stuff I put in the boat for the trip including water, beer, camp supplies, ect... and all my fishing stuff motors, batteries, tools and gas. The trailer tires are rated at 2830lbs each.

My question is how does the same model of boat that's two feet longer only weight 110 lbs more. Perhaps this is accurate if you think the extra two feet could only be hull and flooring.... just seems odd to me. I guess comparing the 619 to 621 the difference is about the same.

The weight difference on a longer skeeter is striking and more of what I expected.

question.... has anyone rolled their 1880 on a scale?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2019, 07:33 PM
Charter Member

Two things I've learned in my 65 years on this earth:
1) Every boat weighs more than the manufacturer's numbers online.